WorldWideLab

Where Does the Money Go?

Well, it’s been a long time coming, but World Wide Lab opens today! After so many nervous nights of wondering if we could even afford this feat, we did it! Congratulations to the cast, crew, and most importantly, the 12 directors who have worked tirelessly to put on 6 shows!

When I moved here from Toronto, Canada, 4 months ago, I had no idea that I’d be helping to manage such an amazing project. The most valuable – and nerve-wracking – learning experience for me has been managing the budget, because as an artistic person, I am completely scared of numbers! I thought I’d face my fears here and tell you where the money has been going to help make WWL such a success!

Let’s do some math (eek!!)

12 directors
18 actors
1 producer + 1 assistant
1 Stage manager + 1 assistant
2 set/props designers + 1 assistant
1 lighting designer + crew of assistants
1 costume designer + 1 assistant + 1 wardrobe attendant
1 tech director + numerous staff on hand at Irondale (our space)
3 composers
2 videographers
1 resident photographer
= 48 people (and change) involved in WWL this year!

Other than spending money on significant people…how about materials? We need props, set pieces, costumes, food (ok, not for us – it’s eaten on stage!), postcards, posters, programs – you name it, we’ve got it!

Dare I forget the amazing foundations from around the world that have been supporting our directors so they could find accommodations and travel in order to be here with us in NYC!

At the end of the day, we have been blessed with gaining so much support for WWL this year, and despite my fear of numbers, I promise you all that our budget is being spent wisely to ensure that you all enjoy WWL to the fullest. So why not come join us as we start at Irondale tonight? We can’t wait to see you there!

– Tamara Weisz, NYC

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2013 by .
