WorldWideLab

A Beautiful Day

Through the iron fenced windows of a monastery, strange sounds echo through the narrow alleys of a medieval settlement, penetrating the peaceful landscape; sounds of joy, laughter, sorrow, despair, love, anger. Slowly, as the day passes by, the sounds fade out and as the moon rises, it glistens radiant above a companionship of 20 people, smiling upon them. It sounds like a dream; and it is! Only I get to live it.

When I first heard about the World Wide Lab I honestly did not know what to expect. It sounded both exciting and intimidating. A group of amazing directors, of different cultures and ideas, working together with 2 brilliant set designers, a fantastic group of actors and a charismatic composer. I had to be part of it. I had to meet the Giants and live my own fairytale!

It’s been more than a week now and my fairytale becomes better and better. Every time I look around me I see smiling, hard working faces, that thrive on new challenges. It is not that common to see people who are used to work solo, co direct a play, not to mention 3 plays! It is absolutely astonishing to be in the same room with them, when they brainstorm in excitement. But what stuns me the most is, that I have become witness of numerous stupendous discussions where people actually listen to what everyone has to say, get the best out of it and try to make it bigger! Neither competitive, nor insulting to each other; simply supporting and evolving each idea. Pure beauty!

And after that, inspiring words fill the actors with enthusiasm and creativeness. I has been a while since I was part of such a committed and resourceful group. The collective work and effort is fulfilling. Although it’s only been a few days since I met them for the first time, it feels like I have known them my whole life! It feels so natural to share the stage with them or occasionally a slouvlaki or an ice cream (seriously, these guys could live on ice cream!).

I have met my Giants and they are the best one could hope for in a fairytale. I have the privilege of working with them for 2 weeks and be their friend for a lifetime! What more could I ask for? Every morning I wake up with a smile on my face. It’s another beautiful day!

— Thanos Foskolos, Syros, Greece

The 2015 World Wide Lab cast in "Echo" (Thanos in the center)

The 2015 World Wide Lab cast in “Echo” (Thanos in the center)

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2015 by .
